NOTD – Mavala *Marron Glace*, Breakages and Old Wives Tales

Let’s start with NOTD. Here we have a classic shade by Mavala  *Marron Glace*. I had been missing my little Mavala minis and was determined to use one this week or next. What prompted me to fully commit to using this shade was the unfortunate incident of a broken nail (check the middle finger out, waaaaay short). Doing Nail Art with a mix of long and short nails was not on the agenda tonight, so instead I thought ‘keep it simple’, but not boring I hope! 🙂 with this earthy neutral shade.

Mavala Marron Glace Nail Luxxe

I feel like I should write an Ode to Mavala seeing as I go on about them so much lol. But with them, I never have to worry – super quick application and beautiful coverage. I suppose you could describe this as a Mushroom shade, but that little extra shimmer livens the whole manicure up.

Now about this broken nail: always attempting to spin a negative into a positive, I will be looking into some unconventional/myth/old-wives-tales remedies to see if we can get this baby to grow back quick.  I will not be filing down the rest of my nails to meet the length of the middle one, sorry, can’t bring myself to do it.  But I really should have – and will –  filed down the index more to match the ring and pinky fingers.

Anyhoo, if you have heard of any of any kooky (but not too crazy!) methods then let me know by comment or the Contact Page and depending on what it is I will try it out and record the progress.  If you do know of a crazy method, write it below anyway, it’ll  be interesting.

13 responses to “NOTD – Mavala *Marron Glace*, Breakages and Old Wives Tales

    • Hmm, that’s a good one. Will investigate this some more. I always hear about supplements but had never tried it so this might be the perfect time. Thanks for the suggestion! 🙂

      • Oh, as opposed to ingesting a supplement. Even more interesting. Beyondthebasecoat has just suggested a salt water solution, maybe I’ll do one hand in orange juice, one hand in the salt solution and see which one works best!

  1. OMG, I love this color!!! Nah, I didn’t even realize that your middle finger’s nail was shorter! 😛 Your nails look awesome even if they are not all the exact same length! 😉

  2. Aww thank you! I swear I almost mourn a broken nail LOL , so I’m very happy to hear you say it’s not that noticeable 🙂
    And as for the colour, Mavala have done it again – a perfect shade! I would definitely recommend adding this to your collection

  3. Biotin works for me for faster growth. I’m a recovering nail biter so I keep my biotin supply up. Natures Made has a biotin lozenge. Tastes like cherry candy & its really tiny like a tic tac. Love em.

  4. Years ago (10-15) I used to be able to buy Mavala nail and cuticle cream. It came in a small jar that would last forever, every night I would put on my cuticles and I loved it. I haven’t seen it to buy for years now and if I do see it, I will be buying a ton. It worked so good. Since you have access to Mavala nail polish maybe you would come across the nail & cuticle cream?
    Thank you for stopping by my blog today. I love your blog and will def follow!
    –Judi
    MiddleAgedBeautyQueen

    • Thanks so much for the comment and follow. I love your blog too! 🙂

      I think I have seen the Mavala cuticle cream…it’s in a tube though instead of a jar. After your recommendation I will definitely check that out properly

Leave a Comment

