Barry M Gelly Hi Shine *Lychee*

I cannot tell you how long I have been wanting this nail varnish!  It was killing me seeing all the wonderful reviews of Barry M Gelly Hi Shines and not having the shade I was dreaming of, in my collection lol

…But I finally got it, and I was far from disappointed.  Barry M Gelly Hi Shine in *Lychee* was the shade I wanted from day 1, when Barry M announced their launch on Twitter.  For various reasons from stock availability to silly inconveniences, it didn’t make it home with me until the other week.

Barry M Lychee Gelly Hi Shine Nail Luxxe

There may have been one or two issues with the formula (as you will see with Luxxe Appeal below) but the shade is perfect. Gentle and comforting, whilst being bang on trend.  The Hi-shine property is just an added bonus as it leaves a glossy finish similar to a salon quality manicure.

Nail Luxxe Barry M Lychee 17 silver  (3)

Click to enlarge

I took my inspiration for this look from a manicure I did previously (Models Own Nude Beige and Champagne) which used a ring finger accent.  To progress from that I added some cute little silver rhinestones.  After two coats of Barry M Gelly Hi Shine *Lychee* I put a teensy amount of nail glue on the bottom of the rhinestone and placed it on my nail, sealing it with topcoat.  The accent silver nail was done using 17 – silver.

Not having used many adornments in my manicures, I am very happy with this look and would definitely try something similar again.

Luxxe Appeal

For me, the main issues when using this, was that it didn’t glide freely.  It is similar to a creme varnish.  It wasn’t too thick, but it was certainly lacking in fluidity, which isn’t good when trying to get round the cuticles.  Also I found that I had to wait quite a while for it to dry as it would easily get imprints or little pieces of fluff on it.

Barry M Lychee Gelly Hi Shine Nail Luxxe Luxxe Appeal

Click to enlarge

Silver Barry M Lychee Gel Shine Nail Luxxe222
Scoring 19/25 Barry M Gelly Hi Shine *Lychee* didn’t quite make it to certified Luxxe Appeal.  Full marks for colour but drying issues were its downfall.  You would need to set aside some time to use this varnish, but ultimately for the colour, it’s worth the wait!
13 responses to “Barry M Gelly Hi Shine *Lychee*

  1. I’m kicking myself right now! Just popped into Boots and saw this colour but ended up leaving with Papaya. After seeing it on, I wish I went with the Lychee!!

    • awww, Papaya is a great shade too, especially when the sun comes out!
      Plus you can always go back and purchase Lychee on another trip (you can never have enough nail varnish 😀 )

  2. I have recently started my own fashion blog and i have just done an article on Barry M Gelly paint, it would mean a lot if you could check it out. Thank you x

  3. Pingback: NOTD – Barry M White and Lychee | Nail Luxxe·

  4. Pingback: Nails Inc. You’re a Peach + Luxxe Appeal | Nail Luxxe·

Leave a Comment

