NOTD – No.7 So Simple + Luxxe Appeal

Who knew that so many nude shades existed?!

To the seasoned nailista, the concept of dupes (shades that are almost exactly the same) is nothing new, but I think that the ‘Barely There’ and ‘Nude’ trend has exaggerated that concept, with hundreds of different shades with incredibly minute (but noticeable!) differences. On first glance you might think this looks a bit like Lychee by Barry M, but nope, Lychee is a totally different shade.

I bought No.7 So Simple a long time ago, now, but hadn’t used it yet.  The main reason for which, was that when I was testing it out, the consistency was so off-putting that I just left it alone.  The shade is lovely though.  It is a shimmery, creamy nude with latte undertones.

  No. 7 So Simple

I am going to let the cat out of the bag a bit, and tell you that unfortunately, this shade did not perform very well in the Luxxe Appeal testing (scroll down for more info).  However, I think I have found a way around it.

No 7 So Simple

For this manicure I used a base coat and then a coat of a darker nude shade.  You can either use Model’s Own Nude or 17’s Nude which is a 97% matched dupe (according to moi).  I then used two coats of of No. 7 So Simple and this seemed to even out its super thin consistency.  It also helped with the drying time in between coats, perhaps because it had something firmer to stick to rather than a sleek base coat surface.

I was trying to create a shadow effect which narrows and elongates the nail…you can sort of see it on my ring finger.  In person you can see it a lot more.  But anyhoo, onto Luxxe Appeal (brace yourselves)!

Luxxe Appeal
luxxe14Scoring just 14/25, No.7 So Simple does not have Luxxe Appeal.  It claims to have “pigment rich colour and a quick drying ultra gloss finish” which I did not experience when using it on its own.  It is a lovely shade but you do need a few coats to build up colour and if you want it to work at all, I would definitely suggest using it over another nude shade first! Such a shame because Boots usually have good deals on No.7 but I just don’t think that the varnish is really worth it.

What do you think? Would you try No.7 nail varnish? Do you own it and have different views? Let me know 🙂

4 responses to “NOTD – No.7 So Simple + Luxxe Appeal

  1. I love bright polish but I love the look of nude nails. That polish is such a pretty nude shade.

Leave a Comment

