The Great Gatsby Inspired Nails

Ever since I saw the posters for the Great Gatsby I wanted to use the theme to create some nail art.

Then I found this awesome pin by Sonailicious.com on Pinterest with a Great Gatsby Tutorial. I decided to use the design from that on my ring finger, minus the studs and thicker second triangle.

For the rest of my nails I used the poster itself to create a design for each individual nail.  The red circled areas show the parts that I translated onto my nails.

The Great Gatsby Poster

I used Models Own Champagne and Barry M Black.  First I applied Models Own Champagne all over my nails.   Whilst that dried I cut up strips of striping tape and stuck them to the table in preparation of the next step.  I then placed the striping tape where I wanted and applied the Black on top of the tape.

Great Gatsby Nails Nail Luxxe

For me, the best method is to remove the tape as soon as possible whilst the nail is still wet so that it leaves a clean line.  Hope you like it!

37 responses to “The Great Gatsby Inspired Nails

  1. This is beautiful! I love it so much. Honestly, I like your version better than the tutorial you linked! I want to try this 😀 If I do, I’ll post it on my blog and link back to you for sure! ^_^ Thanks for sharing!

    • You’re more than welcome 🙂 I struggled with it too – just couldn’t figure it out until I experimented and pulled it off ‘early’. That discovery changed everything lol x

        • Not really lol. Regular tape’s not the best for intricate designs. I couldn’t find any in local shops in so I bought mine from Ebay and would recommend that 🙂

        • Oh thanks for the tip! I haven’t been on eBay in forever and honestly id forgotten to even look. I’m excited! My designs might start to look a little more like designs and less like the bottom of a birds cage! 😀

          I simply LOVED this nail art, thank you so much for sharing. You are so unbelievably talented! ❤

        • Haha! You are most welcome! I was actually just thinking, you should be a hand model (if you aren’t already). Your hands and nails are so beautiful. Seriously, consider it! 😀

          Have a awesome day my lovely!

    • Thank you for your lovely words – you’re making me blush 😛 I think the original tutorial is excellent, just that I preferred a different design for each nail 🙂 x

  2. Pingback: Gatsby Nail Art Fail! | prettypolishes·

  3. Pingback: Mint & Gold Triangle Mani – What I Used | Beautiful Kayekie·

  4. Pingback: Art Deco Inspired Nails | Nail Luxxe·

Leave a Comment

