Happy 4th! UK or USA?

Happy 4th of July to all my readers in the USA!

This week I saw all these designs floating around of USA nails and I wanted to join in! (even though I’m not American lol)

4th July Nails, American Nails, Independence Day Nails

To make the star I made my own nail transfers (decals, tattoos, stickers). I have done this before, but only once, so I thought I would give it another try.  Using a plastic bag (one that you put sandwiches in) I painted a white square onto it.  Then when it was dry I cut it out into the shape I wanted and then carefully peeled it from the plastic and placed it onto my nail, sealing with a top coat.  There’s a pin in my Nail Tutorials Board on Pinterest which explains it really well.

Being a Londoner, I couldn’t resist attempting UK nails.  I say ‘attempt’ because it didn’t quite turn out the way I wanted it to.  I used the same nail transfer technique to make what was supposed to be a UK heart on my ring finger, which was a but of fail on the painting front plus it was too big for my nail.

UK nails

For both designs I used the exact same colours by Mavala – Deep Blue, London and White.  This was the first time I’d used ‘London’ which is a true red and it was an effortless application as with the rest of the colours.

I’ll have to give UK nails another go at some point, but I hope all the American readers have a fantastic Independence Day and that everyone else has a great day too!

Nail Luxxe xoxo

10 responses to “Happy 4th! UK or USA?

  1. With all those flags floating around on the net (and on the nails) it’s hard to resist. Don’t worry both results are fun and the sticker idea is brilliant…How about doing a video tutorial? I’d looooove it 😉
    Have a great day
    xoxo

    • Thank you Valens! I need to practice my video skills a bit more after the Opera Ballerina one lol But I will work on it 🙂
      Hope you’re having a lovely day
      xoxo

  2. That Union Jack heart is really cool, I think it turned out great! I was just doodling that at work the other day…I found a nice union jack nail tutorial, maybe I’ll try that out sometime!

Leave a Comment

