New Purchases – Essie & Illamasqua

It’s been a while since I’ve shown you the chosen bottles to make it into my stash, so here they are:

I picked up a few Essies, which are all very different but each fulfill a specific purpose.

Essie Bahama Mama Waltz Beach Bum Blu

From Left to Right: Bahama Mama, Waltz & Beach Bum Blu

Ever since I saw a swatch of it, it was my mission to get my hands on Bahama Mama.  It’s a wonderful mix of bordeaux and plum, which makes the ultimate berry shade.  I don’t think I’ll be wearing it til Autumn/Winter but I’m glad to have it ready and waiting in my stash.  Next up is Waltz which is a barely there white – absolutely gorgeous!  I imagine that it’ll need three coats to get the right consistency, but I’m sure it’ll be worth it.  Last but not least is Beach Bum Blu – a pearlescent mid-tone blue.  I don’t own anything like it and thought it would be nice to try something different for Summer.

The next two are from Illamasqua who had an online sale on last week.  Make sure you’re following me on Twitter because I’ll often tweet about nail sales. 

Illamasqua Kink Base coat

Base Coat & Kink

I decided to try out their base coat as my Barry M base coat had just run out and I wanted to take the opportunity to try something new.  I also added Kink to my basket (another shade to put on hold til Autumn/Winter) which is a bottle green shade that has a ‘rubberized’ texture (sort of like a gelly). Very excited to wear this! It’s funny, I had a very strong dislike for greens until last Winter when I experimented with peacock greens and before I knew it, I’d come to the conclusion that greens aren’t so bad 🙂

11 responses to “New Purchases – Essie & Illamasqua

    • So glad you said you like the rubber finishes. I wish I got more of them now! Aorta looks amazing! Do you wear it with a top coat or just on its own?

      • I typically wear it on it’s own. It looks good with top coat but it’s not a particularly unique shade of red. The rubber finish is really the main thing that distinguishes it.

  1. I would love to see a swatch of the Illamasqua rubber finish – can’t decide if I want to spend the $$ on a “novelty” polish or not 🙂

    • Not sure if I’ll be doing a swatch of it soon, but there are quite a lot of swatch pics out there, if you search ‘Kink Illamasqua’ or ‘Aorta Illmasqua’ those are rubber finishes for an example. Julie from Short&Sweet in Texas says she loves hers and I wish I got more! If there’s a colour that you’re 100% in love with then go for it! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Essie – Beach Bum Blu + Luxxe Appeal | Nail Luxxe·

Leave a Comment

