New Nail Shape

As promised, here is a pic of my new nail shape.  To begin my journey with the new shape, I decided to paint my nails with Mavala Velvet.  I adore this colour for so many reasons! Firstly, Mavalas apply so well that creating a new manicure is a snap – it dries very quickly and the finish is always salon quality.  The colour itself is a clever mix of nude and pink, its not quite one or the other but a happy medium that offers a sophisticated and grown up look.

Almond Nails Mavala Velvet

Apologies for the lack of clean up on the middle finger.  The excitement to show off my new nails got the better of me but the fact that its bugging me so much now has taught me a vital lesson: that a couple of mins doing clean up saves a ton of regret later lol.

I’m guessing it will take about a week or so for me to get the tips exactly almond but they are well on their way.  I’m very happy with the new shape, much more so than the first time I changed it.

In real life I feel more lady-like (if that makes any sense) and as though I have an obligation to stick to colours that will make the shape look elegant rather than garish or brash.  That’s not something I worried about with square/squoval nails, where I think you can get away with any colour or any embellishment.  But with almond, the shape itself is dramatic so you don’t necessarily want to go overboard with colour or ‘things’ on them, so we’ll see how that works out.

What do you think?  More pics to come…unless you guys hate them awkward lol

33 responses to “New Nail Shape

  1. I do not hate, I love! I changed my nail shape recently too 🙂 I went baby stiletto, I guess that’s what you’d call it. They’re pointed at the ends but it’s subtle. I’m loving them.

  2. The colour looks great and I like the nail shape too. It sounds weird, but I think they suit your fingers! I have sausage fingers so only square/squoval suit me. I look forward to seeing them full on almond.

    • Thank you for saying so 🙂 You do not have sausage fingers by the way!I checked! lol. But you definitely have to feel comfortable with the shape, so if it’s square/squoval that works for you then that’s perfect!

  3. The shape looks great. I don’t really do much with nail shaping because my nails aren’t nearly as long, but these put mine to shame. I didn’t even notice the middle finger (even after you pointed it out). lol. Your nails are always so amazing.

    • Awww thank you Sam. They say we are our worst critics so that’s probably why it sticks out so much for me. Nail shape can be a way to customise your nails but you don’t have to. Like most beauty related matters, it’s important to feel confident and comfortable with what you have 🙂

  4. Oh my goodness, LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE!! The shape looks fantastic on you and your choice of polish color is spot on, it complements your skin tone so well!! Can’t get over how fabulous your nails look 🙂

    • I know what you mean. I didn’t anticipate having to grow my nails quite so long for almond so it is a bit of work. I’m sure when you really really want to grow them, then you will 🙂

      • haha! I forgot to add that your nails are stunning in any shape or form! You have quite long and slim fingers and nails (I wish I had them myself! 😦 ) so, even if the nails are squared, you still have a lot of elegance in your hands!!! 😉

  5. Oh my, this shape looks perfect on you!!! You’ve done a great choice because it’s very sophisticated 😉
    I still remember when I’ve switched from oval to square and quickly to squoval, I felt so strange!!!
    Have a great weekend, hun ^-^
    xoxo

    • It’s definitely an adjustment! But I think that if you like it, that feeling will go away quickly. Whatever you feel comfortable with is usually the best way to go.
      Thank you lovely, have a wonderful weekend too! xoxo

  6. I love it (and LOVE the colour – so buying it!) it looks very natural nail shape 🙂 envious as I just chopped mine all off last week due to a few looking a bit sad due to being in water too much doh

    • Do! You won’t regret it 🙂 Thanks about the nail shape. It sucks when you have to ‘start again’ after breakages/weakness. I was just doing some research about hand washing and dry skin and nails. The hand wash/soap has a bit to do with it but upping the moisturiser should help…even if it’s annoying 😛 Wishing a speedy recovery! 🙂 x

  7. Pingback: Heart Nail Art | Nail Luxxe·

  8. Pingback: How to Grow Nails | Nail Luxxe·

  9. gorgeous shade of nail polish and your nails look lovely ❤ I'm in the process of growing my nails long enough to create the almond shape… (taking forever) xx

Leave a Comment

