Border Manicure

The border manicure has been on my mental list of ‘looks to try’ for the longest time.  The two main reasons why I didn’t go for it were that I couldn’t figure out how to get such thin lines around each nail and that I seemed to prefer the look on round nails.  So instead I did the half border manicure, which turned out to be a pretty good compromise, even in the days when I had squoval nails.  But I was still determined to do a border manicure.

Border Manicure Nails

The base colour looks a little blue to me in the photo but it is in fact Maybelline Cloudy Grey, which looks exactly like dry cement – the colour, that is 🙂 .  After adding a base coat I applied two coats of Cloudy Grey and waited for it to dry.  Then came the tricky part and part I was dreading – creating the border.

How to Border Mani

I put a splodge of Revlon Silver Screen on a piece of foil and dipped a small nail art brush into it.  I then freehanded a border around each nail.  I started by doing the first line at the cuticle, then joined a curved vertical line from the cuticle to the right side.  So for each nail I did three lines – Cuticle, Right Side, Left Side.

I’m really pleased that I finally tried out the border manicure!  It wasn’t as bad as I feared it would be and the use of cool colours brings a modern almost space age theme to mind. I see it as the cool coloured yin to the Nude Beige & Champagne yang.

Border Manicure Nails

13 responses to “Border Manicure

  1. Pingback: Dotty Manicure | Nail Luxxe·

Leave a Comment

