Lilac & Rose Glitter

Hi everyone!  How have you been?

Today’s manicure features a couple of my favourite things – purple and glitter – combined with something that I’m getting used to, even though I used to have them all them time – squoval nails.  I decided to file the sides down in preparation of when they grow a bit more.  I think I’ll be returning to almond nails, but for now this is my shape.

 Lilac Glitter Nails

I used Barry Ms – Prickly Pear with Rose Quart.  Rose Quart is a stunning glitter made up of tiny holographic pieces and Rose coloured hex glitter.  It’s seriously very pretty.  The terrible grey, rainy weather just made me go for it by using Prickly Pear as a base. It’s part of the Gelly Hi-Shine range, and is quite a good alternative to gel nails.

Having used Lychee (also a Gelly Hi-Shine) and finding a slight issue with the drying process, I did this manicure a little differently.  I applied a base coat and then a sheer pink before adding two coats of Prickly Pear.  This made all the difference! Firstly the coverage was so much better, no bald spots, much more even coverage.  Secondly it bulked up the gel-like appearance, making it hard to tell that it’s only a varnish. Just about managed to capture the gelly loveliness on the ring and little finger (below).Rose Quart Gelly Pirckly Pear Barry M

 I would definitely recommend these two by Barry M and they don’t look bad together either 🙂 Soon it’ll be time for Valentines Day Nails!  Have you planned yours yet?

24 responses to “Lilac & Rose Glitter

  1. I love everything about this mani 🙂 The shape looks great; I love a glitter gradient (or whatever) that starts at cuticles; the elegant lilac of Prickly Pear just makes me want to buy even more Barry Ms … delightful! 🙂

    • Yay so happy you like it! 🙂 Barry Ms are always tempting aren’t they? Prickly Pear is even more gorgeous in the flesh and lilac will be a big colour for Spring so it’ll be a justified purchase if you make the splurge 😛

  2. Pingback: Nail Polish Alternatives to Gel Nails | Nail Luxxe·

  3. Pingback: Triangle Tipped Nails | Nail Luxxe·

Leave a Comment

